Search

Categories

Main menu:

Tags

Update New PDF Reader For Windows

I’m not sure exactly what the deal is with this one, but it’s abundantly clear that this message is constructed in a way that is intended to mislead people into thinking it is from Adobe.

I’m not sure if it is an attempt to get users to download a program infected with malware on their PCs or if it is just some affiliate spamming a product and making a commission each time someone downloads a copy of this so-called “Adobe PDF” software.

The adobe-pdf-2010.com domain is registered in the U.K. and is linked to a site that redirects visitors to another site called pdfprodownload.com that is registered in Canada, and seems to be a software maker that does indeed have an affiliate program.

Whatever is going on here, it smells rather rotten to me — even if it is just promotional spam for software that is not a danger to anyone’s computer.

From:    Adobe [newsletter@adobe-pdf-2010.com ]
Sent:    Monday, January 11, 2010 10:29 PM
Subject:    Update New PDF Reader For Windows

Dear valued customers, 
Adobe PDF is pleased to announce new version for PDF Reader/Writer which enables
you to view, create, edit  and print PDF documents. The PDF format created by Adobe
is the most efficient way to exchange information.
You can simply follow the following instructions to make your PDF Reader/Writer most
updated.
     1. Visit Abode PDF  website or just copy and paste this link to you browser:
http://www.adobe-pdf-2010.com
      2. Download new version of Adobe PDF Reader/Writer and get your application
updated.
Thank you for choosing us, the worldwide leading PDF Reader/Writer provider.
Adobe PDF Reader

                                      Copyright Adobe PDF © 2010 – All rights reserved